Rabbit Dogs banner

Squirrel Hunters

4K views 38 replies 19 participants last post by  OldManJim 
#1 ·
Although I deer hunt a few days a year, and have just now got back into rabbits, I am primarily a squirrel hunter. Season starts back on May 15th. I am ready to get in the spring woods and get after them.
I mainly use shotguns, and mostly a 410, but use .22’s some as well. Got a new to me .22lr last week. Real nice one owner rifle from the late 70’s. I’m gonna get it scoped and see what it will do.
Any of you guys life long squirrel hunters? I have been loving it for 38 years now.
Brown Wood Flooring Hardwood Wood stain

See less See more
#3 ·
squirrel hunted all my life, although haven't in last 2 yrs between picking up rabbit hunting and super busy after deer season, need to get after some I have on my place, my wife feeds our chickens scratch and a few other things as a snack in afternoons near their coop, some of the squirrels caught on, theirs 6-7 of them I sware are 5 lb

#11 ·
Used to do a lot of squirrel hunting years ago cause squirrels used open up 2 weeks before rabbit season... I have an old friend I haven’t talked to for awhile he was dead serious about squirrel hunting . He shot typical Grey and red squirrels also shot Fox squirrels to top off his collection black squirrel as well , I wonder if he ever gotten the all white squirrel he always talked about he had each species mounted as well pretty cool he called it his Grand slam of squirrels

#12 ·
White grey squirrels are fairly common where I live.I haven't gotten a good enough look to see if they are albinos.So far I've only seen them in town.Usually rifles with Monte Carlo combs ,white line spacers and basket weave checkering make me break out in a rash but I have wanted a rifle like that since they first came out.

#13 ·