Rabbit Dogs banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to beagling and I learn more everyday, but I would like to know how a field trial for beagles works. Thanks!

·
Registered
908 Posts
As far as AKC trials go, you can go on the AKC web site and look at the rules pertaining to the different formats. Next would be attending a trial ( in the format that interests you) in your area as an observer and ask questions. Most folks are willing to help newcomers to become familiar with the running of the trial and the hounds.

Next thing to remember is to never let trialing dictate the style beagle that you like and keep. They may be worlds apart.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, i found some trials that are a couple of hours away that are coming up i might get entered in.

·
Premium Member
3,041 Posts
Just keep an open mind about em and go with the understanding that you like the dog whether the judges do or not. :wink:

·
Registered
117 Posts
i live just south of winchester, va not but maybe an hour from you. what kind of dogs do you run? and what clubs are you interested in going to visit?

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Ive only got one dog right now and its a beagle but in the next few months i will be getting another one (bluetick). There are some clubs in morgantown west virginia. I didnt look at any clubs in virginia.

·
Registered
117 Posts