Buckshot And Oak Hill

Discussion in 'Breeding, Bloodlines, and Pedigrees' started by billy boy, May 17, 2018.

1. billy boy

billy boy Member

would like some of you guys opinions on buckshot r&r influenced beagles and oak hill influenced beagle bloodlines, from your experience Pros Cons from foot running style hunt jump desire grit and so on from your experiences. just like to hear honest opinions thanks in advance.

2. Robert L. Dunn

Robert L. Dunn Active Member

I have no experience with the Oakhill beagles but will relate what I know about Buckshot Jones. He was bred by the late Chester Haston of McMinnville, Tennessee. Buckshot came from a cross of RNR Joe Blue who was off of NCFC Flatlands Cody and Bell's Dora. Flatlands Cody was off of FC Flat Creek Blake (HOF) who was off of FC Wright's Shake (HOF). This cross of Joe Blue and Bell's Dora produced several good hounds, FC RNR Hey Jude, FC RNR Blueberry Will and some others I cant recall. Although Joe Blue and Dora were not successful in field trialing, they were great producers. In their time they were only average in speed but did possess other good qualities such as line control, nose and hunt.

The last cross off of RNR Joe Blue to Starlite Rose was an accidental breeding, Chester was working on his kennels and put Joe Blue in with Starlite Rose who happened to be in heat. Joe Blue had failed to produce in his last several breedings because of his age so Chester didnt think anything about it. When he looked at them they were hooked up. Out of this cross came three FC little females. At least to me this would indicate that the producing genes came through RNR Joe Blue. This may not be a good assumption since Bell's Dora was never crossed on anything else but Joe Blue.