Featured Barking at Dog Scent

Discussion in 'Rabbit Hunting and Beagling' started by Fox, Oct 25, 2017.

1. Fox

Fox New Member

ky
    My 5 month old pup when separated from my older male dog will pick up his scent and bark until he finds him. Is there anyway to correct this problem without a training collar? I have a training collar just feel he's too young for it and will become collar shy. This is my first time raising and training a pup.

2. Greenhaw

Greenhaw Member

Tn
    Will the pup open on a rabbit?

3. Fox

Fox New Member

ky
  4. Greenhaw

Greenhaw Member

Tn
    Do your collars have tone or vib?

5. Fox

Fox New Member

ky
  6. bear128

bear128 Active Member

Fox I got a young pup doing the same thing . I've being hitting the tone and telling her to stop . she does it at weird times mostly when first let out of the truck I've been chalking it up to just being excited

7. OKLAHOMA

OKLAHOMA Member

I have one down big the same thing I just vibe her and she stops I am never expecting a lot from a 6 month old and am just happy they are trying, the rest will come natural just keep feeding them tracks and let them be pups lol!

okiebeagler likes this.
  8. Greenhaw

Greenhaw Member

Tn
    I will give this a try, I think you first have to, what my friend Mr Dunn calls get him hooked. That means, he wants to run a rabbit more than anything. If your pup will run with your older dog and stay the whole race and not come out on a hard check, he is hooked. If he is in and out then be careful. If you get on him to hard he may quit it all. If he is started good then it is time to stop this with your collars. If he will trail another dog he will probably open on a deer or anything else. Solo time will help, that will take care of the dog tracking. Again you have to be the judge on how well started your pup is. This is only my option and not a pro dog trainer. Good luck.

9. mattdog

mattdog Member

WV