Rabbit Dogs banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have an idea for a feeder that would put out only the correct amount of food daily, even if it’s something that’s homemade. Give me some ideas guys.

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
I have heavy duty rubber pails that I attach to the fence as well, I also wrap wire around the pail and attach to the fence.
What I really hate is the young dogs chewing the pails apart. In the winter if the water freezes I can pound on the outside to knock the ice out.
I use stainless steel when there is no freezing going on. JMO

·
Registered
292 Posts
I've been using the "Quickfeed" horse feeder for 6 years now with no breakdowns. They are expensive for no more than it is but awesome performance. I ordered dbl outlet feeders with 1/2 cup increment dispensing. You can set the times and amounts to your pleasure. I think even though they say its fine to use outside I would install inside only in constant temp. so no condensation or mold growth. My dog boxes are in the garage with a door to the outside run. I put the feeders above with a 2" conduit down into a mounted stainless loaf pan below. Absolutely no issues in 6 years. Fantastic as I can't get to the dogs daily. Holds about 3 weeks of food in hopper. I then keep a large water trough in the box also as it then doesnt freeze or get nasty growth etc. The dog box is split in two with a nest on 1 side and the food and water and door to outside on the other.
Actually, I do have 1 of the food bowls mounted on nest side so when it dispenses to 2 dogs there is the wood divider between them to control any issues.
I'll try and figure out how to upload some pictures. Its a 3rd gen design and wouldn't change a thing.

·
Registered
292 Posts
By this 3rd generation design---- sloped the concrete out the dog door for easy washout. Switched to aluminum side hinged dog doors. Can go on vacation about 10 days before water is needed.