Rabbit Dogs banner

7 month old beagle

2K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  CFerran_97 
#1 ·
Hello everyone. I have a 7 month old beagle. I am attempting to get her trained to be a rabbit dog. I will admit I have never done this before so any help would be greatly appreciated. I am in the Lexington Ky area. If anyone knows of any pens around the area please let me know.

#2 ·
I don’t have as much experience as a lot of the guys on here but i can give you my best advice. The best thing to do is to get her to use her nose get her used to being separated from you and just keep taking here into the woods. In my opinion you don’t have to get them into A pen and to start them just find some land around you to run weather it be public land or A park you’d feel comfortable running in or private if you have it, get her running around the woods and her instincts will kick in especially if she kicks up her own rabbit. Another thing is try not to set ur standards higher than what your dog can achieve some pick it up faster and some slower. The best thing for her will just be time in the woods the more time you put into her the better or she will be

#5 · (Edited)
Welcome to rabbit dogs John . You are in a good state for beagles . More than a few good beaglers there .

The family of rabbit dogs .net are having a big fellowship get together this very weekend in KY. You should try to attend , free food , raffles for the junior beaglers and a lot of fellowship . You could bring your dog or just come and watch others dogs run . I am sure you will meet a lot of new friends and get some great advice and learn a few things . You will probably hear some tall tales also , Lol .

#12 ·
Get her to handle for you, get her into the woods, go where there are some rabbits. Be patient with her.