Rabbit Dogs.net > Beagle Talk > Rabbit Hunting and Beagling > trapping rabbits

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2013, 10:29 PM   #1
cshaw8652

Default trapping rabbits

I have yet to trap a rabbit. And there are plenty of them around.
I need some advice on trapping rabbits from someone who knows there stuff and that has done it consistently. Not just got lucky and trapped one. Thanks

Old 10-29-2013, 07:12 AM   #2
kg

I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination but my advise would be to build or buy octagon traps. I have caught rabbits in boxes but the octagon traps work much better in my opinion. You can google it and find different plans/instuctions on how to build them. Apple and vanilla flavoring for bait.

Old 10-29-2013, 08:03 AM   #3
cshaw8652

OK. I'm gone look that up. Thanks

Old 10-29-2013, 08:24 AM   #4
Daddy Rabbit
RD_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Default Wooden Boxies~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>>

I agree with you in the summer time,, they good,, but I catch more with my Home made wooden boxies,..

I catch all I want to in the Fall, when it get down in the 30 degree, they go inside these wooden boxies for shelter,, I use No bait! Bait will catch you a possom or skunk.. Catch anything but a rabbit and forget catching a rabbit in that box,, they will not go inside if there is anyting but a rabbit scent in there..

Always use Old Lumber when building your boxies, and there is a new way to build them without the old drop lids,, the new hinged doors are lots better,, as the coyotes can't pull the lids up and get the rabbits..

I have caught 10 rabbits last week and when its cool they go inside real well..
Good Luck
D.R.~~~~~~~~~>>

d.R.

Old 10-29-2013, 08:31 AM   #5
cshaw8652

d rabbit- can u post pics and dimensions of ur box? or send them to my phone 205-399-2762

Old 10-29-2013, 01:53 PM   #6
Daddy Rabbit
RD_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Default Photo's of Wood Rabbit Box~~~~~~~~~~~>>